Praise God for the Good

Praise God from whom all blessings flow;
Praise him all creatures here below;
Praise him above ye heavenly hosts;
Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. Amen.

Sometimes I get grumpy. Just straight grumpy, full of negativity, and with nothing but complaints on my lips. Grumpy, and in a funk. My house is a mess. I hate my job. My kids don’t listen to me. My husband and I lack consistency in our communication and date nights are almost non-existent. We have no direction as a family. Most of my girlfriends live too far away, and wah-wah-wah, I can’t afford to join my sweet sisters at the She Speaks conference going on right now or the Online Bible Study Retreat in the fall. Again…wah-wah-wah.

And then I just feel dumb. First world problems, you know? In my selfishness and ethnocentric view of life I tend to forget a hurting world–slavery, abductions, wars, devastation, hunger, and lost-lost souls.

And yet, I am reminded of my sisters in Lira, Uganda, praising the Lord even in the midst of hardship. Real hardship.

Praise.

Praising God for the good.

How do we capture the love our souls were designed for and let it change us for good?  We start by recognizing that all that is good in our life comes from God and praising Him for that. It’s so easy to get distracted by what is wrong in our life and and take for granted all that is good. – Lysa TerKeurst, Am I Messing Up My Kids?

I don’t want to be distracted any more. I don’t want to take for granted all that is good. I want to praise.

Yes Lord, I enter this day into a time of praise. Praise in the midst of directionless depression and uncertainties. Praise. It roots me once again in the truth of who you are—your grace, love, and mercies overflowing even to those of us unworthy and unfaithful. You are faithful when we are faithless. You are joy when we are joyless. You bring peace when we find only turmoil. You alone lift us up and plant our feet on solid ground. Praise. It roots me.

And so I praise you Lord…

I praise you for cups of coffee, pens and journals, photographs, roses and daisies, soft candles, strawberry milkshakes, and warm lavender baths.

I praise you for my home, in all of its unique personality, broken hinges, and peeling paint—it is home, a place of warmth and comfort, and it brings joy to my heart to be here.

I praise you for a steady job and reliable income. A job that not only pays the bills but allows me the opportunity to continually minister to young adults seeking truth and answers.

I praise you for sweet friendships from long-time girlfriends and my precious Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study community.

I praise you for the three beautiful little girls who teach me each day about patience, listening, love, laughter, reading good books, being silly, and asking big questions.

I praise you for the amazing man that you have provided in my life—my protector, my encourager, my lover, my best friend.

I praise you for the freedom to worship you with our local gathering of believers, united in brotherly love and with a passion to know you more.

I praise you for the strength, courage, wisdom, insight, direction, and peace that comes from you alone.

I praise you for all that is good.

Amen.

Praise God from whom all blessings flow;
Praise him all creatures here below;
Praise him above ye heavenly hosts;
Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. Amen.

One thought on “Praise God for the Good

  1. Pingback: Praise is the Key | Super Woman Syndrome

Leave a Reply

