Being A Mom is Tough

We all live in a place of utter dependence on God. As a mom, I live in constant need of His love, encouragement, wisdom, perspective, strength, patience, and grace. – Lysa TerKeurst, Am I Messing Up My Kids?

My dear Sadie Rose, 5-years-old and quickly turning 18, has a flare for the dramatic and a quickly growing vocabulary. While leaving school one day this past spring, she realized in a panic that she had forgotten her favorite blanket in her classroom, and exclaimed, “Oh Crap!”

In complete and total shock, I replied, “Sadie Rose! You can’t say that! Where did you learn to say that?”

She had the perfect answer, “From you.”

Of course. Of course that’s the answer, my little foul-mouthed pre-kindergartner.

I responded, “Just get in the car.”

My children are like sponges. They will say what I say. Sometimes I am blessed when they repeat love and encouraging words, but more often than not, I am mortified when they repeat my failures.

Yes, my failures. These little girls have a way about them, naturally reminding me of my failures on a regular basis.

Sadie Rose is dramatic, expressive, and too-smart for her own good. Dani is an introvert, a bully when life is interrupted, and continually wets the bed because she is too scared of the bathroom. And Kaycee, well Kaycee almost died from choking on a bottle cap 5 months ago and now enjoys giving her mother panic attacks by finding the smallest items in every corner of every room  and shoving them into her mouth.

And I am to blame. Right?

Wrong.

Being a mom is tough. Plain and simple.

Sometimes I have actually thought to myself, “I want to throw the tantrum on the grocery store floor! Surely that has to be cathartic in some way! Would anybody think it odd if I just threw myself on the floor right here in the frozen food aisle and screamed it all out?”

Well, I may not have the freedom (or the bravery) to scream it out in the grocery store, but praise the Lord, I have the listening ear of an amazing God who gives love, encouragement, wisdom, perspective, strength, patience and grace. Amen. Amen.

Yes, being a mom is tough. But being a perfect mom is impossible. I will fail. I will make mistakes. And my children will repeat words I would rather them not even hear.  And so, I must rely completely on the Lord. He alone will see me through the storms of tantrums, bed wetting, choking hazards, and yes, even a cuss word or two.

With God, I’m never a bad mom. I might be having a bad moment…or two…or seventeen, but a few bad moments do not define me as a bad mom. God’s grace is there to cover me. Teach me. And even in the middle of a bad moment, interrupt me, redirect me, and change me. Forgiveness is there. Love is there. A second chance is there. – Lysa TerKeurst, Am I Messing Up My Kids?

I am not doomed to be a failure as a mother. Instead, I live in the freedom of knowing that  God’s grace, love, and forgiveness cover a multitude of my mommy mistakes.

4 thoughts on “Being A Mom is Tough

  1. Oh Crap! Yup – our kids are like sponges and often my boys show me where I have failed by imitating my behavior. Luckily it’s always a good lesson for me to change and adapt and thankfully by God’s grace we are not completely “messing up our kids”.

    Enjoyed your writing. Hope to follow you through this study.

  2. Oh most definitely feeling you on the cuss words…my almost 3 year old is repeating what I say too. Most of the time…I have a handle on my mouth but when the pressure mounts…I let it all hang out…most of the time my anger is directed at my hubby…And Leah is repeating the same thing to her father. Oh, bad move! Thanks for posting…makes us think, makes us learn how to change ourselves for the better. God’s lessons to us through our kids.

  3. I, too, would like to throw a tantrum sometimes…and sadly, my yelling could be mistaken as one at times. this is a great post. Thanks for the reminder that they are always listening to what we say. Thanks for sharing!
    Lauren, P31 OBS blog hop team

  4. Mary – Thank you for posting! You are an encouragement to us all! Keep on keeping on. I am with you #imperfectmom – God is my portion. With Him All things are possible.
    Teresa

Leave a Reply

