Screaming-Purse-Head or Sober-Minded?

Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.
1 Peter 5:8

Sometimes I think that I’m the only one out there. The only full time wife, full time mother, full time employee, full time student, and part time…well, part time everything else. I convince myself that no one else can understand what its like; no one else can understand all the stress and the pressure. Some call me Super Woman as though a compliment,  yet I feel even more and more trapped by this label. And in the midst of it all I’m coming unglued at the seams.

Ah yes, unglued. This is exactly where I am. And exactly what I am reading for that matter. I am continuing on my journey through Lysa TerKeurst’s Unglued and joining thousands of women around the world through Melissa Taylor’s Online Bible Study. Well, at least attempting to join. In the midst of full time living I find myself trying to play catch up with the reading, blogs, comments, conference calls, and more. In the midst of this semester, actually, I find myself playing catch up in a lot of areas, and not just academically or with this book. I’m also having to play catch up with relationships–my husband, my children, my mother, my friends. For when conversations or circumstances are not perfect, and my raw emotions and stress get the best of me, I explode.

So, before continuing on, here goes…

Hello, my name is Mary, and I am an Exploder. (Did you all just reply, “Hello Mary”?…Just curious).

I am an exploder who shames myself AND an exploder who blames others. In the midst of all the stress in life, I struggle to bring balance to my heart and soul. And as Lysa states, “All I want to do is throw my purse over my head and scream. Scream! Scream!”

Our verse for this week, however, has triggered within my heart a reminder that hiding my screaming head in my purse will continue to be detrimental to my relationships and to the full time life that God has called me to live. Rather, Peter teaches me to be sober-minded and watchful, for the devil is prowling and seeking to devour. Yes, to devour me. And as I give in to the raw emotions and allow the stresses of life to lead me to explosions, the devil has found his prey. 

Lord, I pray that as I continue through this time of growth in Unglued you speak through your Word and remind me to seek the life that is of you–one that is sober-minded and peaceful, always seeking your wisdom, understanding, and grace. Lord, continue to help me repair my relationships that I have damaged in the midst of explosions. And reveal to me that I am not alone–for you never leave me, and I am also joined in this journey with thousands of other women seeking to stop screaming, to repair relationships, to survive full time living, and to know YOU more! And for that I am grateful. Amen.

11 thoughts on “Screaming-Purse-Head or Sober-Minded?

  1. We are all adults. We can be smart enough to dodge the flying debris. Or we can stand there and take the full impact. Better yet, we can stand up and hold up our shield of faith, demonstrate grace, and remember all the times we have also exploded.

    I choose not to shame you or me. Instead, I join you in being sober minded and watchful.

  2. I love your blog! Your post today is encouraging and full of wisdom. I do not want to be Satan’s prey! Thank you for blogging and touching hearts! Keep it up 🙂
    ~sherri

  3. I did respond, Hello Mary.
    I love your wit flavored with wisdom, or is it wisdom sprinkled with wit.
    Keep writing like this and you will touch many hearts.

    Blessings,
    Catherine
    OBS group leader

  4. Great advice for all of us “super women” out there. You are right…living up to that “compliment” can really add a lot of stress and expectations. Thanks for sharing your blog today!

  5. Thank you for sharing. This was great….I think so many get caught in the Superwoman trap, and fail to enjoy the little pleasures in life. I’m not currently in Superwoman role, but I find I fall into it all to often. Although I am not a mom and don’t have a family of my own yet. I have been crazy enough to attempt full-time school, full time work, and life at the same time.

  6. Wow, thank you for sharing. I have such a hard time putting my feelings into words and my emotions and you summed up about 95% of my life. My friend and I were just saying tonight that we are “just trying to keep up” with life. Man is it hard. And trying not to explode in the meantime. I failed miserably this week. I too am a single mom of 2 kids 5 and 2, full time employee, full time maid, full time driver, full time referee, etc. Shall we go on ladies!! Thanks again for this post. Youre not alone.

Leave a Reply

