Hannah Banana Goes to College…

It sounds like the title of a really great children’s book. But it’s not a children’s book. It’s reality. My youngest niece, Hannah, or Hannah Banana as I have affectionately called her at different times through the years, will leave for Boston, MA today to study at Emerson College. She is a musical theater and performing arts genius and has been given an incredible opportunity to go to college and study performing arts.

I have watched Hannah grow into a beautiful and talented, bold and confident, caring and funny young woman who is seriously going to go and do great things. I have so many fond memories with her–from visiting her at Valley Christian when we were both “up on the hill;” traveling with her to North Carolina for New Years in 2006; visiting San Francisco with her; staying up late at her house watching movies, talking about musicals, or playing pounce; playing in the snow up at Terrapin; talking on Skype and IM for hours while I lived in Korea; and probably most memorable for me, was having her stand beside me at my wedding. A beautiful bridesmaid.

Hannah, I love you dearly and I am praying for you as you begin this journey. You have become a beautiful woman of the Lord and I know that he has great things for you. And as you head off to wonderful adventures please remember,

“Set your minds on things above, not nothings that are on earth.” Colossians 3:2

“Let not steadfast love and faithfulness forsake you; bind them around your neck; write them on the tablet of your heart. So you will find favor and good success in the sight of God and man.” Proverbs 3:3-4

Be strong and courageous, Hannah, and may the Lord be truly glorified through the amazing life you will live!

She’s all grown up now…but someday in the future when she is famous…I will be able to say, “I knew her when…”

One thought on “Hannah Banana Goes to College…

Leave a Reply

